Barbie Adds Curvy and Tall Miniature Gardeners

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

The Garden Gal. I forget what kind of Barbie it was before I customized it. This was made in 1999, before I started Two Green Thumbs.

Barbie Adds Curvy and Tall Miniature Gardeners

Thank you, Mattel, for adding us to your product line! We’ve been playing with you for years.

Here’s a little trip down the TGT memory lane this week as I put the final touches on the manuscript of my second book for Timber Press. (Find the first one, a bestseller, here on Amazon, or get one autographed here.)

This is Garden Gal, one of my adapted Barbies that I customized in 1999, (the last century!) before starting this busy-ness, Two Green Thumbs Miniature Garden Center. I was experimenting with joining miniatures with gardening in different ways.

The Garden Gal was my second attempt at customizing Barbies. I still need more practice painting miniature faces, it’s as not easy to do as it looks. It was really fun to gather the items for the box, mess-up the clothes and to customize the box too.

Everything, including the doll, was threaded back in the box, just like a new Barbie. Too fun. Who needs to submit a manuscript when there are ideas like this to pursue????

Dig in for more details under each photo, click to enlarge the photos. Leave any questions in the comments!

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Some props came from Barbie, some from a miniature store and some we made ourselves.

 

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

Remove Barbie’s face with Acetone. Get tiny brushes and a magnifier to paint for the details. It takes practice – I need more Barbies! Lol!

 

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

I cut the gloves from an old pair of full-sized gloves. The bulbs in the package are Allium seeds, I think.

 

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

The dirt on her clothes is a combination of dried coffee grounds and acrylic paint. The “soil” in the back is real soil, with any big chunks taken out.

 

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

The spool of string, the seed and soil bags can all be made from things around your home.

 

Custom Miniature Garden Barbie, www.TwoGreenThumbs.com

The backside of the box. I used the box she came in, and recovered in a collage to reflect the theme.

Love the idea of a garden in miniature? Visit our website and store here.

Keepin' it real in the miniature garden with TwoGreenThumbs.com

12 Comments »

  1. I love this idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Publisher said

    Very cool Janit! We are looking forward to the manuscript for the new book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Andrew! I’m looking forward to you having the manuscript too. Lol! :o)

      Like

  3. Anne Rivera said

    OH I love all those accessories !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dr. K said

    I wish it were really available!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love gardening, and miniatures, thus miniature gardening. I’m also an avid Barbie collector, so I think this is fabulous! I’d love to see more scenes with Barbie gardening. 🙂

    Like

  6. Alina said

    Haha, this is a great idea!

    Like

  7. .isabel. said

    LMAO!!!

    Like

  8. Cheryl said

    I love this idea. I would have been afraid to take acetone to her face so thank you for making that plunge. Great job!

    Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Thoughts and Opinions:

