Miniature Vegetable Gardening, Season End Review


Mini vegetable seeds from the Seedman.com, bought last January.

The fun begins: mini vegetable seeds from the Seedman.com, bought last January.

Miniature Vegetable Gardening, Season End Review

It is as fun as it sounds: miniature vegetable gardening. It’s not for the overly efficient gardener that is trying to squeeze as much produce out of every square inch out of the garden, it’s for the fun of it and it is great for laughs.

Miniature veggies started in trays. Picture taken on April 17th.

Miniature veggies started in trays - all sprouted beautifully and in good time. Picture taken on April 17th.

I ordered the seeds back in January from Seedman.com and they arrived in good time.I bought the
-Tumbling Tom Tomatoes in Red and Yellow,
– Miniature Bell Peppers in Red, Yellow and Chocolate,
– Sweet Dumpling Squash,
– Sweet Baby
– Corn, Baby Eggplant,
– Baby Boo Pumpkins and
– Midget Pickling Cucumbers.

I sowed only a few of each seeds because space to start them was limited and I

The mini veggie starts patiently waiting for the house deal to close. May 30th.

The mini veggie starts patiently waiting for the house deal to close. May 30th.

wasn’t sure how to organize the garden as we were in the middle of a short sale house deal. I wasn’t even sure of where I would be come springtime! But it was late March when I got eager and just had to sow some in trays – I really couldn’t stand it any longer.

Houston? We have soil contact. You could hear the mini veggie starts sighing with relief. ;o) Picture taken on July 7th.

Houston? We have soil contact. You could hear the mini veggie starts sighing with relief. ;o) Picture taken on July 7th.

By late May, the house deal was still up in the air and plants had to be moved on from the trays to the 4” pots. But they wanted the earth. The house finally cleared in mid-June and the veggie garden was one of the first things we did when we got there.

We took the easy route because there was so much lawn: we covered the plot with cardboard and dumped two truck loads of compost on it. Voila, a veggie garden!

But it was a bit too late for some of the veggies. The Baby Eggplants never gave anything but flowers and the Miniature Bell Peppers barely performed, the Seattle summers may be too cool for them. But several of the others starts did well and at least gave me some produce to cook with. Take a look:

Tumbling Yellow Toms Tomatoes

Tumbling Yellow Toms did the best. I'll plant them in hanging baskets for next year.

Tumbling Red Tom Tomatoes

Tumbling Red Tom Tomatoes looked like small Roma Tomatoes. Pretty!

Sweet Baby Corn.

Sweet Baby Corn was nicknamed "Mini Mutant Corn" ~ I wasn't quite sure what to do with it but enjoy visions of Tom Hanks in the movie, "Big" nibbling on cocktail corn cobs.

A Sweet Baby Corn Stalk.

To tell you the truth, I really don't know how to grow corn! Lol... and perhaps a miniature corn maze is not realistic either! ;o)

Baby Boo Pumpkin

Miniature Boo Pumpkins were fun to grow. The whole plant was small too - but the squirrel got to the pumpkins before we did. I'll be ready for him next year....heh, heh, heh...

Sweet Dumpling Squash

Sweet Dumpling Squash is very sweet looking - but still waiting for it to mature so I can eat it. It'll be a squash snack...

Baby Eggplant

The Baby Eggplants only gave me flowers this year. I'll be on top of them next year and ready to try again.

 

So there you have it: Miniature Vegetable Gardening! I introduced my friend, Janice, to the mini veggie garden bed a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed her laughter and delight as she picked a miniature mutant corncob off the stalk and we ate it. It was interestingly sweet!

I’ve since found many more mini vegetables to try out and I suspect it will keep me hooked for a few years. They are so much fun and get a terrific response from anyone that sees them…. just for the laughs! Okay, and a nibble or two.

See the world’s only Miniature Garden Center here.
Join me on Facebook for more mini garden fun here.
Sign up to receive the monthly Mini Garden Gazette here.
Subscribe to this blog over there ;o) ~~>

4 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Goven Bestafarda, Two Green Thumbs. Two Green Thumbs said: Miniature Vegetable Gardening, Season End Review: http://wp.me/ptPgO-h4 […]

    Like

  2. webdesin said

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

    Like

  3. Maro said

    It’s look fun to do that 🙂

    Like

  4. Rachel said

    Cute! I just learned Miniature vegetable gardening upon reading your article.It looks really fun! I also think the miniature corn maze is not realistic but still, I’m impressed;0

    Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Thoughts and Opinions:

