seedGROW Project #5 – The Takeover Has Begun!

Nasturiums taking over the garden bed!

Nasturiums taking over the garden bed! Since last month's post, the Azaleas were trimmed right back and perennial pots are placed to start thinking about design ideas... I'm not sure I like how cluttered this is right now.

Seed GROW Project #5 – The Takeover Has Begun!

Not bad for the circumstances, I say!

I planted in two different locations, as you may recall, and only sowed four seeds due to “the big move” in late spring. And, um… ya, I think I’ll only plant four seeds next year too! Checkout the difference between planting them in the new compost vs. the poor soil.

Nasturiums planted in new soil.

Nasturiums planted in new soil with the new veggie bed. Proves the theory: "find the worst soil you can" for Nasturiums, the worse, the better!

The two plants that were planted in new compost next to the vegetables and did rather poorly. They grew slowly and as they got bigger, they always had yellow leaves – although the aphids loved them. When I pulled them out for looking way too ugly, the aphids were no longer a problem funnily enough. (That was the deal with the husband – I could have a veggie garden in the front yard as long as it didn’t look like Ma and Pa Kettle’s garden – so the nasty looking nasties had to go.)

Nasturiums in full summer growth. I love the leaf patterns.

Nasturiums in full summer growth. I love the leaf patterns.

Nasturiums on the loose. Run.

Nasturiums on the loose! They want to root too.... better start running now...! ;o)

The other two plants were planted in incredibly poor soil – if you can call it soil. I originally wanted them to just hide the pot that the Coral Bark Maple is in but they’ve gone beyond that, checkout these growers! OMG, the husband wants to yank theses ones too as they are taking over the other pots in this temporary bed in front of the house. (We didn’t want to plant this bed in the summer as it gets full sun, everything is still in pots.) Next year, I’ll give the a trellis to invade. What was that Stephen King short film about a plant taking over the house? We’re beating them back from the front door! Lol…

Nasturiums want in the house now.

The Nasturiums want in the house now. They'll be helping themselves to the fridge next!

I’m very impressed with these four seeds that I sowed. If I can get these results from so little sowing, I wonder what other Renee’s Seeds will work wonders for me? Thanks Renee!

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, thanks to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds.”

Nasturiums growing through, up and over everything else.

Nasturiums growing through, up and over everything else.

Thoughts and Opinions:

