Don’t try this at home…

The 2010 Northwest Flower and Garden Show display

The 2010 Northwest Flower and Garden Show display. A table for two in the garden, please?

Don’t try this at home…

…. ‘Cause it won’t work very well.

I finally caved in and did what all the other display designers do: mix everything up for Showtime!

So, I’ve got full sun plants right next to shade plants.

I’ve got plants that love water next to plants that don’t.

I’ve completely over-planted the table and it probably won’t last until June if it does stay together.

And, I’ve compromised the roots on some plants in order to get it onto the table. (Poor things!)

BUT, at least I didn’t plant indoor plants beside outdoor plants….

Yea, I broke most of the cardinal rules.

And I’m not sure I like it.

The 2010 Northwest Flower and Garden Show Display

A partial top view of the table. I need stilts to get up higher!!

I normally try to match the horticultural requirements of the plants within each container, but I thought it was about time that I get a bit more creative with this so-called container “competition.” (Not that I would even know how to win – upon directly questioning the judges on the rules a couple of years ago, I was met with the response, “What rules?”)

The 2010 Northwest Flower and Garden Show Display

A new mini garden sculpture, the Fontana di Venere

It was fun to toss aside the golden rule of “right plant, right place”, but it kinda took away the challenge of it all. I think being an avid gardener, I am obviously head over heels for the plants, but I really enjoy the geeky-ness of “figuring it out” too. If every plant worked with every other plant, I think gardening would be a bit boring.

The sketch of the miniature garden table layout.

The sketch of the Miniature park bench and wee fairy garden

That said, here’s a list of the plants I used for the garden table for this display, use my sketchy-sketch to help you place them.

Abies lasiocarpa ‘Duflon’ – Duflon Alpine Fir – Two Green Thumbs
Acorus – true miniature – Fancy Fronds
Acorus gramineus – Sweet Flag – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Bellium minuta – Miniature Daisy – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Chamaecyparis obtusa ‘Nana Pyramidalis’ – Nana Pyramidalis Hinoki Cypress
– Patricia Calvert Greenhouse/Washington Park Arboretum
Euonymus japonica ‘Microphyllus variegata’
Irish Moss Sagina subulata – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Leptospermum rupestre – Tea tree syn. Humifusum – Patricia Calvert Greenhouse/Washington Park Arboretum
Ophiopogon japonicus ‘Nana’ – Dwarf Mondo Grass
– Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Sagina sublata – Irish Moss – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Saxifraga simmerteri – Florabundance Sale
Saxifraga umbrosa – (Can’t find anymore, check with your local nursery.)
Sedum obtusantum  – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Sedum spurium ‘Tricolor’ – Tricolor Sedum – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Sempervivum godaeri + assorted miniatures
– Indoor Sun Shoppe/Courting Frogs Nursery
Soleirolla solerolii – Baby Tears – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Thymus lanuginosus (Wooley Thyme– around edge of table)
– Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Thymus serpyllum ‘Elfin’ – Elfin Thyme – Two Green Thumbs or your local nursery
Ulmus minor ‘Jacqueline Hillier’ – Jacqueline Hillier Elm – Two Green Thumbs

Fun, huh? The entire display was made from found or recycled materials, except for the wire netting that holds the plants and soil in the table – that cost $17. It’s a card table frame, with a canvas stretcher frame attached, that makes up for the bulk of it. Then I decorated it with twigs, aged wood, seed pods and other natural accents.

I’ll get more photos up of the display soon. There was a slight hiccup yesterday when I forgot my battery for my camera and ended up at the show in front of my display, wondering why it wouldn’t work… Lol…

… points for creativity? ;o) More photos to come!

Online store: http://www.shop.twogreenthumbs.com

Miniature Park Bench with a Wee Fairy Garden

Miniature Park Bench with a Wee Fairy Garden

1 Comment »

  1. That is so much fun! I love it. Thanks for stopping by to look at my terrariums.~~Dee

    Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Thoughts and Opinions:

